A free program exploration guide supporting ReflektifReflektif.net ↗
← All comparisons

Technology / Sourced comparison

Computer Engineering & Software Engineering

The whole system, or the software life cycle?

An editorial comparison based on sample institutional curricula. The program’s official name, language of instruction, and year are in the source citations below; this information does not represent all universities.

Editorial summarySource-based
01

Computer Engineering

02

Software Engineering

What does it focus on?

Computer Engineering

A broader view of computing that covers not only software layers but also system layers such as circuits, microprocessors, computer organization, operating systems, and networks.

Software Engineering

A curriculum view that covers the software life cycle from requirements to architecture and from coding to testing and deployment, together with quality, process, and project management.

Example course titles

Computer Engineering

  • Introduction to Programming and Object-Oriented Programming
  • Data Structures and Database Management Systems
  • Logic Circuits and Electronic Circuits and Laboratory
  • Microprocessor Systems and Laboratory
  • Computer Organization, Operating Systems, and Computer Networks
  • Formal Languages and Abstract Machines

Software Engineering

  • Software Requirements Engineering
  • Object-Oriented Analysis and Design
  • User Interface Design and Testing
  • Software Quality Assurance
  • Software Project Management and Economics
  • Software Architecture and Secure Software Development
  • DevOps and Mobile Application Development

How is it learned?

Actual weekly workload cannot be inferred from course titles. The learning formats below are editorial summaries; verify them with the course information package and its instructor.

Computer Engineering

  • The curriculum includes laboratory work, internships, and a capstone project.
  • Sakarya EBS lists problem-solving, group work, laboratory work, assignments, and student projects among its teaching methods.

Software Engineering

  • The Sakarya plan includes two internships, Software Engineering Design, and technical electives.
  • Assignments, case studies, group work, and student projects are listed on the program page; the concrete experience varies with how each course is delivered.

Theory and practice

Computer Engineering

Mathematics, formal models, and hardware-oriented courses progress alongside practical work, projects, and internships; no universal theory-to-practice percentage can be derived.

Software Engineering

Algorithms and discrete-mathematics foundations progress alongside courses in requirements, architecture, testing, security, and deployment; reporting a single ratio across universities would be misleading.

Possible areas after graduation

These are example directions; they do not mean you gain a direct occupational title or authorization. Check regulations, graduate education, appointment requirements, and institutional conditions separately.

Computer Engineering

  • Systems or application development
  • Embedded systems and IoT
  • Networking and cybersecurity
  • Data and AI
  • Research and technical specialization

Software Engineering

  • Software development
  • Testing and quality assurance
  • DevOps and software architecture
  • Product or project work
  • Web, mobile, data, or AI

What changes by university?

In Sakarya Üniversitesi's 2026-2027 plan, computer engineering is listed with 56 courses and 240 ECTS, while software engineering is listed with 53 courses and 240 ECTS. The computer engineering plan makes electronics, microprocessors, and system layers more visible; the software engineering plan foregrounds requirements, quality, architecture, and secure development. TOBB ETÜ's computer engineering plan for 2026-2027 and later, with three terms, three Cooperative Education terms, and a capstone project, shows that university design can change the student experience.

Official sources

View all sources ↗

The source review date is not the plan’s effective year.

01Official sources

Sakarya Üniversitesi

Computer Engineering undergraduate degree

Curriculum year
2026-2027
Source year
2026-2027
Last checked

Supports claims about the curriculum, the 240 ECTS total, systems/hardware courses, internships, and the capstone project.

Open official source ↗
02Official sources

Sakarya Üniversitesi

Software Engineering (English) undergraduate degree

Curriculum year
2026-2027
Source year
2026-2027
Last checked

Supports claims about the 240 ECTS total, requirements/quality/architecture/security courses, two internships, and the design course.

Open official source ↗
03Official sources

Sakarya Üniversitesi

Teaching methods for the Software Engineering (English) undergraduate degree

Curriculum year
Not specified
Source year
Not specified
Last checked

No open year listed: verify its currency with the university.

The EBS page lists conventional and active education, problem-solving, laboratory work, assignments, group work, and student projects; the concrete level of practice depends on course delivery.

Open official source ↗
04Official sources

TOBB ETÜ

Computer Engineering undergraduate degree

Curriculum year
2026-2027 and later
Source year
2026
Last checked

Supports the university-level distinction through the three-term structure, three Cooperative Education terms, electives, and the capstone project.

Open official source ↗
05Official sources

Yükseköğretim Kurulu

YÖK Atlas undergraduate programs portal

Curriculum year
Not specified
Source year
2026
Last checked

No open year listed: verify its currency with the university.

Provides access to the official YÖK Atlas entries for computer and software engineering programs; it was not used as the main evidence for the curriculum comparison.

Open official source ↗
Report an error or broken link in a source ↗

Your email app will open. You can add the page address and your correction suggestion; do not send personal notes or sensitive information.